The Kemah Boardwalk is a definite “must see” visit if you are in the area. Restaurants and rides and ocean views. The main attractions of the 42-acre complex, which opened in 1997, are its many restaurants overlooking Galveston Bay.
Katy, Texas is a vibrant and rapidly growing community just west of Houston. Founded in the 1870’s, Katy was originally known as Cane Island, named after Cane Island Creek that still runs through it. It wasn’t until 1945, however, that Katy became incorporated as a town.
The older part of Katy is a community of quiet, tree-lined streets which reflect the laid back atmosphere of a small town. Historically, Katy was a major agricultural center, especially rice farming, and a railroad hub. At one time Katy was also home to one of the one of the largest gas fields in this part of Texas, over 30,000 acres in the 1940’s.
So what is there to see and do in Katy? Quite a lot!
Katy is also home to Katy Mills Mall, home to many fine stores and shops and restaurants… over 175, at last count!
In 1822, a group of Austin’s colonists went up the Brazos River, stopping near present day Richmond where they built a fort called Fort Bend. Named after Richmond, England, the town was among the 19 cities first incorporated by the short-lived Republic of Texas, in 1837.
Early residents of the city include many prominent figures in Texas lore such as Jane Long, Deaf Smith, and Mirabeau Lamar, who are all buried in Richmond. On August 16, 1889, the town was the site of the “Battle of Richmond,” an armed fight culminating the Jaybird-Woodpecker War, a violent feud over post-Reconstruction political control of Fort Bend County. The Mayor from 1949 until his death in 2012 was Hilmar Moore.
If you have that anxious feeling where you know you need to get away, the answer is easy. It’s island time! Leave the stiff and boring behind for the excitement of Galveston Island’s beachfront facilities in one of Texas’ top tourism destinations. Located just 50 minutes from Houston, this tropical island offers more than 5,000 sleeping rooms, 32 miles of beaches, rich history and culture, unique shopping and a variety of world-class attractions to make your meeting far from ordinary.
Offering sweeping views of the Gulf’s sparkling waters, the Galveston Island Convention Center at the San Luis Resort is the perfect meeting destination. Located on Galveston’s famous Seawall Boulevard, this 140,000 square-foot property combines executive conference facilities with luxurious amenities as well as complimentary wireless Internet, shuttle services and on-site parking.
While you’re in Galveston, mixing business with pleasure is easy as the island offers plenty of opportunities for exploring, from the adventure pyramids of Moody Gardens to the thrills of the Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Visitors can learn about Galveston’s unique history at a variety of museums, like the historic mansion Bishop’s Palace or the 1877 Tall Ship ELISSA. In Galveston, even shopping and dining are historic, cultural experiences. The Historic Downtown Strand Seaport District boasts of beautiful Victorian storefronts featuring unique shops, restaurants and art galleries just a short walk away from Galveston’s Pier 21 and glistening harbor.
Check out the Galveston Photo Galleries!
The San Jacinto Monument, standing slightly over 567 feet in height is the monument that remembers the battle of San Jacinto, which was the deciding battle of the Texas Revolution, where Texas won its independence from Mexico and became the Republic of Texas, a sovereign nation. The monument was not built until the 1930’s, from 1936 to 1939, and it was formally dedicated on April 21, 1939. It is also happens to be the world’s tallest monumental column and is part of the San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site.
There is also an elevator you can take to the monument’s observation deck, where you view of Houston and also the battleship the USS Texas.
At the base of the San Jacinto Monument is a museum of the history of the battle and also of Texas culture and Texas heritage.
Bolivar Peninsula was named in 1816 for Simón Bolivar. Jean Laffite had associations with Bolivar Peninsula. James Long based his operations here since 1819 with the first establishment of Bolivar Peninsula, and Fort Las Casas was built here in 1820. Samuel D. Parr is responsible for starting the settlement in 1838 that would later become Port Bolivar.
The Point Bolivar Lighthouse has an important history with the peninsula, since 1872. The North Jetty, extending from Bolivar Peninsula, of the entrance to Galveston Bay started being constructed in 1874.
From 1896 to 1968, the Gulf and Interstate Railway connected Beaumont to Galveston Island with aid of train ferries. Fort Travis in Bolivar Peninsula, a separate facility from Fort Travis in Galveston, was built with construction started in 1898. At one time the Bolivar Peninsula was called the “breadbasket of Galveston” and the “watermelon capital of Texas”.
Rosenberg was named after Henry von Rosenberg who migrated from Switzerland to the United States in 1843.
Rosenberg began as a shipping point on the Brazos River, and reached a boom in the late-18 and early 1900s as the railroads developed. It grew to become a center of commerce in the 1940s and 50s, and was knows as the “Hub of the Gulf Coast.”
Find out much more about what you can see and do in Rosenberg at City of Rosenberg , Visitors page.
Located on the scenic shores of Matagorda Bay just 90 minutes southwest of Houston, Palacios, is a quiet paradise for birders, fishermen and everyone else who loves the outdoors.
Palacios is small town America at its best. The people are friendly. The scenery is fantastic. The sunsets over the water are spectacular.
FInd out more from the Palacios Chamber of Commerce.
Washington-on-the-Brazos is known as “the birthplace of Texas”, a distinction it earned when on March 1, 1836 it became the meeting place of the Texas delegates who formally announced Texas’ intention to separate from Mexico and who drafted the constitution of the new Republic of Texas, organizing an interim government to serve until an officially elected government could be put in place.
The delegates declared independence on March 2, 1836. Their constitution was adopted on March 16. The delegates worked until March 17, when they had to flee, along with the people of Washington, to escape the advancing Mexican Army. The townspeople returned after the Mexican Army was defeated at San Jacinto on April 21. Town leaders lobbied for Washington’s designation as the permanent capital of the Republic of Texas, but leaders of the Republic passed over Washington in favor of Waterloo, which later was renamed Austin.
Washington County was created by the legislature of the Republic of Texas in 1836 and organized in 1837 and Washington-on-the-Brazos became the county seat. Although the county seat moved to Brenham in 1844, the town continued to thrive as a center for the cotton trade until the mid-1850s, when the railroad bypassed it. The strife of the Civil War took another toll on the town, and by the turn of the 20th century it was virtually abandoned.
On December 29, 1856 Dr. Richard Rodgers Peebles and James W. McDade organized the Hempstead Town Company to sell lots in the newly-established community of Hempstead, which was located at the projected terminus of Houston and Texas Central Railway.
Peebles named Hempstead after Dr. G. S. B. Hempstead, Peebles’s brother in law. Peebles and Mary Ann Groce Peebles, his wife, contributed 2,000 acres (8.1 km2) of the estate of Jared E. Groce, Jr. for the community. On June 29, 1858 the Houston and Texas Central Railway was extended to Hempstead, causing the community to become a distribution center between the Gulf Coast and the interior of Texas. On November 10 of that year Hempstead incorporated. The Washington County Railroad, which ran from Hempstead to Brenham, enhanced the city upon its completion.
Hempstead is famous for its watermelon crop, and until the 1940s the town was the top shipper of watermelons in the United States. Billy DiIorio was known as the Watermelon King and Angelina DiIorio was known as the Watermelon Queen. Both resided in Hempstead, Texas. The town holds an annual Watermelon Festival in July.
The town has grown in recent years because of its relative closeness to Houston along U.S. Highway 290. The current economy is based on county government, shipping, and a large auto dealership which closed its doors in 2009.
Bellville is a city in and the county seat of Austin County, Texas, in the southeastern part of the state. The population was 3,794 at the 2000 census. Bellville was named for Thomas B. Bell, one of Stephen F. Austin’s Old Three Hundred, after he donated land for the new county seat established by voters in 1846. The original county seat was located in San Felipe. Bellville is located at the intersection of State Highway 36 and State Highway 159 as well as FM 529, FM 1456, and FM 2429.
Pearland (pronounced “pear-land”, like the fruit), is a city located in the Gulf Coast region in the US state of Texas within Houston–The Woodlands–Sugar Land metropolitan area.Most of the city is in Brazoria County, with portions extending into Fort Bend and Harris counties.
As of the 2010 census, the city’s population was 91,252, up from a population of 37,640 at the 2000 census. Pearland’s population growth rate from 2000 to 2010 was 142 percent, which ranked Pearland as the 15th fastest growing city in the U.S. during that time period, compared to other cities with a population of 10,000 or greater in 2000. Pearland is the third largest city in the Houston MSA, and from 2000 to 2010, ranked as the fastest growing city in the Houston MSA and the second fastest growing city in Texas.
The area that is now Pearland had its humble beginnings near a siding switch on the Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway in 1882. When a post office was established in 1893, the community was originally named Mark Belt. On September 24, 1894, the plat of “Pear Land” was filed with the Brazoria County courthouse by Witold von Zychlinski, a man of Polish nobility.At the time Pearland had many fruits harvested by residents. Zychlinski saw the pear trees and decided that “Pearland” would make a good name for the community.
Pearland was promoted by developers Allison & Richey Land Company as an “agricultural Eden”. The first subdivision was called Suburban Gardens. The Galveston hurricane of 1900 and the Galveston hurricane of 1915 destroyed most of the fruit trees and slowed growth for a considerable period of time, and caused a period of desertification in the area. In 1914, with agriculture rebounding and the end of desertification, Pearland had a population of 400, but a devastating freeze in 1918 was another setback to the local farming enterprises. Oil was discovered nearby in 1934, which led to the development of the Hastings Oilfield, though did not spur a large amount of growth, as the population fluctuated from 150 and 350. From the 1970s, the town has grown to its present-day population.
Dubina, Tx, home to one of the Painted Churches
When in the Dubina / Schulenburg area, be sure to check out The Painted Churches of Texas. Here are some photos I found on Pinterest to whet your interest!
Beach, Boardwalk, Ocean, Restaurants, Shopping
Antiques, Lake, Museums, Restaurants, Shopping
Antiques, Historical, Restaurants, Shopping
Antiques, Beach, Boardwalk, Museums, Ocean, Restaurants, Shopping, State Park
Historical, Museums, State Park
Beach, Historical, Ocean
Antiques, Historical, Museums, Shopping
Historical, Museums, State Park
Antiques, Historical, Museums
Antiques, Museums, Restaurants, Shopping
Antiques, Hiking, Restaurants, Shopping, State Park, University, Wildflowers
Antiques, Boardwalk, Hiking, Restaurants, Shopping
Painted Churches, Scenic Drives, Wildflowers
Antiques, Museums, Painted Churches, Restaurants, Scenic Drives, Wildflowers